Archive for the ‘Databases’ Category

Full text access to 17th – 19th century British newspapers

May 4, 2009

burney

 

17th and 18th century Burney Collection

Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press”.

british-library-newspapers

 

The 19th Century British Library Newspapers

The collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Newspaper images can be magnified for easier reading or reduced for on screen navigation. You can save and print article images, create links and email them to others.

Please do ask a Liaison Librarian if you would like more assistance in using these new resources.

American Chemical Society

April 27, 2009

Access to ACS  is currently unavailable due to technical issues. We are working on this and will restore access as soon as possible.

informaworld access

April 17, 2009

There are issues with informaworld that we are dealing with at the moment – the Library catalogue contains records that we do not have access to and there are problems with full text access to informaworld titles. A complete list of our informaworld holdings can be found here:  http://www.informaworld.com/smpp/browse~db=jour~thing=title~by=title

We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.